Idea board reconstituted with Mr. Kumar Mangalam Birla as Chairman

21st June, 2006

With the combined holding of the Aditya Birla Group companies in Idea at 98.3 per cent, the Idea board has been reconstituted. Mr. Kumar Mangalam Birla has been named the Chairman. The other directors on the board are: Mrs. Rajashree Birla, Chairperson, Aditya Birla Centre for Community Initiatives and Rural Development; Mr. Sanjeev Aga, Managing Director, Aditya Birla Nuvo; Mr. Debu Bhattacharya, Managing Director, Hindalco; Mr. Saurabh Misra, Director, Aditya Birla Management Corporation Ltd. and CEO, UltraTech; and Mr. M. R. Prasanna, Group Executive President (Legal), Aditya Birla Group.

Aditya Birla Nuvo Ltd. holds 35.7 per cent, Birla TMT Holdings Ltd. 44.9 per cent, Grasim 7.5 per cent, and Hindalco 10.1 per cent in Idea.

The Group's presence in telecom dates back to 1997 when operations started in two circles. The company has since expanded and today Idea covers the states of Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra (excluding Mumbai), Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh, Delhi and Haryana, serving over eight million subscribers.